The Sherman Museum is a non-profit educational institution that acquires, preserves, interprets and displays items of enduring cultural, historical and educational value related to Grayson County and the local Red River area. Formerly known as the Red River Historical Museum, The Sherman Museum embraces our responsibility to engage and educate our community, enriching lives by promoting historical awareness, fostering research through shared knowledge, and encouraging interaction through exhibitions, programs and service events.
The Sherman Museum was founded in 1976 by a group of civic-minded citizens who were concerned about the loss of heritage in the area. The City of Sherman leased the historic Carnegie Library building to the founding group and volunteers ran the museum until the late 1980’s when the first experienced museum personnel were hired. With the introduction of education and outreach programs during the 1990’s, the museum has striven to meet future goals and responsibilities to the public. Off-site exhibits, children’s workshops, travelling exhibits which are available to schools, clubs and organizations; all allow the museum to reach a greater number of people in the community.
The museum is located in a building that formerly housed the Sherman Public Library. Built with funding from the Carnegie Foundation in 1914, the old Sherman Library building is one of a handful of remaining Carnegie Library buildings in Texas. The Carnegie boasts of three oil on wood paintings, by Texas artist James Swann, that were hung in the building in 1934. They are the only examples of WPA art in Grayson County. In 2005, the City of Sherman transferred ownership of the Carnegie Building and the museum collection to the Friends of the Red River Historical Museum.
In the late 1980’s, a second facility was acquired, an historic Church of Christ building situated next door to the Carnegie, to be used for storage of the 50,000-plus objects in the collection. The most significant feature of the Church of Christ facility are the 48 original stained glass windows.
Both buildings became a recorded Texas Historical Landmark in 1986 and, in 1990, the Carnegie building was placed on the National Registry of Historic Places.
We acquire, preserve, interpret and display items of enduring cultural, historical and educational value related to Grayson County and the local Red River area. The museum currently has more than 50,000 objects in the collection. Museum staff are currently involved with the computerization of the collection and have completed over 14,000 documents, 9,000 historic photographs and 800 books.
We are proud to serve the community of Sherman, Grayson County and the greater Texoma-land region.